All the women running for MP in the 2020 general election

From Flair
From Flair

August 28, 2020

Share via

Share on facebook
Share on twitter

The first woman elected as member of parliament (MP) in Jamaica was Iris Collins. Collins won the St James North Western seat for the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) in 1944 after receiving a total of 5,519 votes. Some 75 years later, a record 31 women will contest the polls on election day, September 3 — 12 represent the People’s National Party, and 18 represent the JLP. One independent candidate, Genieve Dawkins, has also put her hat in the ring.

Here’s a list of all the women running for MP in 2020 general election, and the 25 constituencies they represent.


JLP – Jamaica Labour Party; PNP – People’s National Party; and IND – Independent

From Flair


From Flair


Join our newsletter

Related articles